Remember That Song? “Sugar Skulls” – Envy On The Coast

It was a warm September day, a few weeks after school started again and I was on my way to my afternoon classes. I had put new songs on my music player and took advantage of the 15-minute walk to school to listen to them. Halfway to my destination, walking in between the soccer field and the nursery school, a steady siren resounded in my ears before being crushed by Ryan Hunter‘s half screaming/half singing voice. Eyes wide open, I slowed down my walking pace and focused on the astonishing energy stuck in a 3-minute song called “Sugar Skulls.”

Envy On The CoastRyan Hunter, guitarists Salvatore Bossio and Brian Byrne, bassist Jeremy Velardi and drummer Dan Gluszak – had released their first album Lucy Gray in the summer of 2007. “Sugar Skulls” is the first track of this album as well as the song that made me discover one of my favorite albums of all time. Not only Hunter’s vocal performance was the most impressive thing I had heard in a while, the lyrics were beautifully crafted and the instruments created some sort of edge and excitement that translated into the racing of your heartbeat and a tingly feeling in your stomach, from start to finish.

Because of circomstances I never really understood, Envy On The Coast split right before the release of their second album Lowcountry. The record managed to see the light of day but kind of got lost in the confusion surrounding the event. It is still available for sale on Photo Finish Records‘ website. I never really listened or bought this album. Part of the reason was that I never really wanted to believe in the split and I still kind of hope somebody will pop-up from nowhere and say, “hey, it was all a joke!” and Lowcountry will get a proper release…

Anyway, “Sugar Skulls” makes me think of sunny days, of a period when I had a band and secretely didn’t want any other singer than Ryan Hunter, of the excitement I had when I learned they were supposed to open for The Audition‘s show in Paris but cancelled at the last-minute, and of a freaking good album that I still listen to with the same admiration and passion.

Envy On The Coast – “Sugar Skulls”

Isabella stand a little bit taller.
I don’t deserve your tears
anymore than you deserve the fears
that I have left you with, dear.
Oh, may I bless your every last tear?

“She’s just a little girl, she knows nothing of this little game we
like to play”

So tell the martyrs to wait at the gate.
This is an actual case of the truth.
At least, that’s what they call it these days.
So tell your brothers and sisters to wait,
‘Cause love is nothing to waste,
And I swore,
Never your heart, shall I break.

Woo ho, woo ho, please bring me back to you

Widowed, and a little less faithful,
She lets the sidewalks sympathize
With every step she takes,
Ankles growing weak, dear
Oh, may He bless your every last tear?

“She’s just a little girl, she knows nothing of this little game we
like to play”

So tell the martyrs to wait at the gate.
This is an actual case of the truth.
At least, that’s what they call it these days.
So tell your brothers and sisters to wait,
‘Cause love is nothing to waste,
And I swore,
Never your heart, shall I break.

Woo ho, woo ho, please bring me back to you

Isabella, stand a little bit taller.
I am the aisle in the back beside the votive light
Who did this to you, dear?
Oh, may you never shed a damn tear.

Leave a Reply

